Zalma Molina

Headshot of Zalma Molina


Major: Geophysics and Petroleum Engineering

Describe your work in a few sentences that we can all understand: My research involves earthquake monitoring at a Wellington Oilfield south of Wichita. It is significant to determine whether earthquakes are induced by the injection of fluids in the subsurface.

Q: Who mentors your project?

A:   George Tsoflias (Professor), Alex Nolte (Graduate Student)


Q: What surprised you about doing research?

A: I was surprised to realize that research can be accommodated into anyone’s schedule and how much easier it gets once you realize what kind of impact your work is making.    


Q: What did you find most challenging about getting involved in or doing your project? What advice would you offer to students facing similar challenges?

A: While I was starting research, there were some times when I felt like I wasn’t ready to take on a possible long-term project but I realized I enjoyed devoting time into it. It can seem very intimidating at first, but it is completely OK to start something without being an expert on the subject. The point of research is to have an open mind and to have enough curiosity to stay committed.


Q: What do you like most about your project?

A:  I love how the project I work in involves desk work and fieldwork. Most of my work is done through a computer, but by going out into the field, I can see where my data is coming from and why it is significant.


Q: What advice would you give to a friend wanting to get involved in research?

A: I would definitely encourage anyone interested in starting research to do their own research on what type of initial approach works best for them. There are so many opportunities in various programs and through communication with professors to get started so it can be a personal choice. If unsure about anything, the Center for Undergraduate Research is a great place to start as well.


Q: How do you spend your time when you're not working on your research?

A: I enjoy reading, painting, jogging, drinking tea, and spending time with my dog, Sunny.