Randi Hutto

Headshot of Randi Hutto


Major: Speech-Language-Hearing

Describe your research/creative work in just a few sentences that we can all understand: I work in the Comprehension and Language Learning (CALL) Lab. My project focuses on contributing to the research needed to determine why children with autism have reading difficulties and how to help them overcome these difficulties.

Q: Who mentors your project?

A: Dr. Meghan Davidson




Q: What surprised you about doing a larger research project?

A: I was really surprised at how long it takes a study to get up and running. Our lab has been working on the project I am working on for a few years now. We are getting close, but it has been a long time coming!


Q: What did you find most challenging about getting involved in or doing your project? What advice would you offer to students facing similar challenges?

A: I think my biggest challenge was just getting used to working in the lab and learning the way things are done. This just took time and a bit of trial and error. I would tell others to just jump in feet first and ask questions along the way. I think I learned best by just doing and going with the flow. 


Q: What do you like most about your project?

A: I love working with Dr. Davidson and the other members in the lab. It creates a great atmosphere to meet people and get to know the professionals in your program outside of the classroom.  


Q: What advice would you give to a friend wanting to get involved in research?

A:  Like I said earlier, I would tell them to just apply, and jump in. My research experience has made my time at KU unique and fun. It is a great way to use some extra credit hours that are flexible with your time and you get to be creative too! I have learned so much through this hands-on experience and I would recommend it to anyone! 


Q: How do you spend your time when you're not working on your research?

A: When I am not working on my project or other homework, I am usually watching Netflix with my roommates or spending time with my family.